top of page
Search
  • churchman72

One month to go...

Wow. With just over a month to go until The Hollows is published, a lot has happened since I was last here.


The brilliant book cover!

I'd originally meant to recap on everything that's been going on last month - on the 8th, since that would be exactly two months before the release date, but before I could do so, the Queen died. (Very inconsiderate of her.) So here I am now.

So what's been happening?

Well, for one thing, my amazing agent, Anne Perry, has departed... from the Ki Agency, to become the new Editor at Jo Fletcher Books! Anne has been a genuine joy to work with, and we were both welling up a bit when she told me about the change. I'll miss her, but I know she'll do a brilliant job.

As will Meg Davis, also of Ki, who now represents me. Meg's also excellent and I know I couldn't be in better hands.

The first reviews for The Hollows have been coming in, and they've been overwhelmingly positive.

Publisher's Weekly describe the no

The Amazing Anne Perry!

vel as a "tension-filled folk horror outing... sure to resonate with horror readers."

Thanks!

John Mauro at Grimdark Magazine (who were also the first to reveal the spectacular cover design to the world) calls it "[an] exciting and thought-provoking read... an extraordinary debut novel, establishing Daniel Church as an electrifying new voice in speculative fiction."

Thanks, John!

Our first YouTube review is up as well, from David Royce over at Horror Reads, who calls it "an amazing, epic book that you're going to want to put on your list." On his blog, his print review summarises it as "a book that will stay with you for a long time... epic, frightening, keeps you guessing, and it's one of my favorite horror books of the year. I definitely recommend it."

Thanks, David! (Twice!)


The Marvellous Meg Davis!

With just over a month still to go until publication, the book's garnered 45 ratings on Goodreads - the vast majority, again, hugely positive. Reading how the book affected complete strangers is a weirdly heartwarming experience!

Thank you, everybody, for all your kind words!

The Hollows comes out on the 8th November, and can be preordered through the Angry Robot website, or through Amazon, either as an ebook or a paperback.

As for the book launch itself, that'll be happening on 9th November at Blackwell's Bookshop in Liverpool, where you'll find me in conversation with none other than the legendary horror author Ramsey Campbell. Tickets are free, and can be booked here.

It's all pretty dizzying and exciting, I have to say.

I hope to see some of you on the 9th!

Till next time,

Daniel.


30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page